Utrecht tram shooting: One dead in possible terror attack - The Hindu      |       Anil Ambani's RCom pays Rs 458.77 crore to Ericsson: Sources - Times of India      |       LIVE Updates | Manohar Parrikar Laid to Rest at Miramar Beach, Thousands Join Funeral Procession - News18      |       ‘After getting caught PM Modi wants to turn everyone into chowkidar’: Rahul Gandhi - Hindustan Times      |       "Don't Create Confusion": Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav Shred Congress's Offer - NDTV News      |       Congress to contest all 42 seats in West Bengal after talks with Left fail, says state party chief Somen... - Hindustan Times      |       General election 2019 live | No alliance with Congress in Delhi, says AAP - The Hindu      |       Indian Railway Announces More Than 1 Lakh Group D Posts. Are You Eligible? - NDTV News      |       Over 120 Dead After Cyclone Hits Mozambique, Zimbabwe - NDTV News      |       New Zealand Mosques Attack: Gunman Sacks Lawyer, Plans to Represent Himself - News18      |       Australian PM sides with 'egger' against egged senator - Times of India      |       Nearly 13,000 terrorists arrested in Xinjiang, says China - Hindustan Times      |       Jet Airways grounds its operations in Abu Dhabi airport - gulfnews.com      |       L&T's takeover bid of Mindtree: Employees support founders - Moneycontrol.com      |       NCLAT gives conditional nod to ArcelorMittal's ₹42000 cr plan for Essar Steel - Livemint      |       Maruti cuts production by 25% in March - Team-BHP      |       Xiaomi Redmi 7 with Qualcomm Snapdragon 632, 4000mah battery launched in China alongside Note 7 Pro and Redmi AirDots - XDA Developers      |       Dell, Alienware launch Area-51m, Alienware m15 and Dell G7 gaming devices in India - Hindustan Times      |       OnePlus 7 dual-tone gradient finish color design leaked in images - BGR India      |       Android Q beta brings Active Edge remapping option for Pixel 3, Pixel 2 phones - 91mobiles      |       Thanos' Look From Avengers Endgame Leaked, Kissing Scene in Dear Comrade Receives Flak - News18      |       Tamannaah Bhatia opens up about Sajid Khan, says ‘He never treated me in any bad way’ - Hindustan Times      |       Salman Khan sings a new romantic song Main Taare for his upcoming production Notebook; Check it out - PINKVILLA      |       Shahid Kapoor and Amrita Rao starrer 'Ishq Vishk' gets a sequel after 16 years! - DNA India      |       Afghanistan vs Ireland - Highlights & Stats - SkySports      |       A Look Back At 2019 BNP Paribas Open In Indian Wells - ATP Tour      |       When Gautam Gambhir and his wife made witty exchanges after former cricketer received Padma Shri Award - CricTracker      |       IPL 2019: MS Dhoni chased around by a fan, reaction of CSK skipper is hilarious - Watch - Hindustan Times      |       Astronauts vulnerable to creating herpes throughout area journey - Infosurhoy      |       Astronomers discover 83 supermassive black holes - Business Standard      |       SpaceX's Starship heatshields test successful - Livemint      |       A huge meteor exploded over Earth in December and no one noticed, says Nasa - Yahoo News      |       6-Year-Old In Kerala Dies Of West Nile Virus, Contracted Through Mosquito - NDTV News      |       The MINIMUM number of days you should workout in a week (and eat outside) - Times of India      |       Researchers identify genes for eyebrow colors - CGTN      |       Common Heart Drug May up Sudden Cardiac Arrest Risk - News18      |      


Karnataka polls: All-women teams at 450 booths

The poll panel said it was taking awareness steps to increase voting percentage among women and urban voters


All-women teams will manage 450 of the total 56,696 polling booths in the Karnataka Assembly polls on May 12, an election official said on March 27.

"A total of 450 all-women polling stations will be set up in the state for the election, where not just the police staff, but also the polling officers will be women," Chief Electoral Officer Sanjiv Kumar told the media here.

Single-phase polling for the 15th state assembly, which will expire on May 28, will be held on May 12 and votes will be counted on May 15.

The state has registered a total of 4.96 crore electors, with 2.52 crore men and 2.44 crore women, Kumar said.

"The number of new voters across the state has increased by 60 lakh, taking the total electorate to 4.96 crore as against 4.36 crore in 2013 Assembly elections," he said.

A total of 4,500 people who identified themselves as "transgenders" will also be voting, while 15.42 lakh voters, aged 18-19, will be casting their votes for the first time this election.

There were about 2.18 lakh voters on an average in each of the 224 assembly constituencies. "A total of 3,56,552 polling personnel will be employed."

Placing emphasis on having an inclusive election, the officer said additional facilities of ramps, wheelchairs will be provided to allow the disabled to vote.

"Some of the officials with disabilities will be employed as the polling staff for the first time," he said.

Former cricket captain Rahul Dravid, who hails from the southern state, will be the "state election icon", who will urge all people in the state to vote, Kumar said, adding that an election anthem will also be made for awareness on voting by renowned Kannada film director and lyricist Yograj Bhat.

The poll panel said it was taking awareness steps to increase voting percentage among women and urban voters.

"A special drive is also being done to register excluded groups like primitive tribes, nomadic tribes for the poll. Special polling stations which bear ethnic look will be set up," he added.

In the 225-member state assembly, including one nominated, there are currently 122 members from the ruling Congress, 43 from the Bharatiya Janata Party, 30 from the Janata Dal-Secular, eight Independents, 14 vacant seats, with few others from regional parties.

Of the 224 constituencies, 36 are reserved for the Scheduled Castes and 15 for Scheduled Tribes.