Kerala off red alert but IMD's rain forecast keeps it on edge      |       India vs England, LIVE Cricket Score, 3rd Test in Nottingham, Day 1: Virat Kohli carries on post Rahane's fall      |       Seated next to PoK 'president', Sidhu hugs Pakistan army chief, sparks row      |       "I Am Sorry" Banners By Boyfriend In Maharashtra Locality Upset Police      |       Atal Bihari Vajpayee: The man who showed India the importance of good governance      |       Congress revokes suspension of Mani Shankar Aiyar      |       Priyanka Chopra and Nick Jonas' bash: Alia, Parineeti and Ambanis party with the couple      |       UAE extends helping hand to Kerala flood victims      |       Flood-hit Kerala faces shortage of essential medicines      |       Kerala Floods: SC asks panels to consider lowering dam's water level      |       GDP under Modi govt higher than UPA's last four years: Niti Aayog VC      |       Why Kerala has flooded: Since June 1 state got 2344 mm rain, that's five times Delhi's annual average      |       CBI arrests key suspect in Dabholkar murder case      |       Kerala floods: With thousands stranded and rescue efforts lacking, humanitarian crisis looms large in Chengannur      |       Kofi Annan, former UN secretary general, dies      |       Flood Havoc: Did Kerala Err In Ignoring Gadgil Panel's Recommendations?      |       Blow to ED in Mallya probe, attached assets released      |       Soldier killed in explosion near LoC in J&K      |       HC stays construction of heritage hotel in posh Lucknow locality      |       Infosys CFO Ranganath resigns, search for successor soon (Third Lead)      |      

karnataka election

Congress Blown Away In The Coast, BJP Wins 16 Of 19 Seats

This is the first time the BJP has seen such success in all three districts.


The BJP washed away the Congress in all three coastal districts of Karnataka, winning 16 of the 19 seats here, and making a clean sweep of  Udupi district's five assembly constituencies,

In Dakshina Kannada, the saffron party won seven of its eight constituencies, defeating Congress by not less than 15,000 votes in all of them. In Uttara Kannada too the party created history by winning four of the six seats.

This is the first time the BJP has seen such success in all three districts. The party did very well surprisingly in the minority strongholds of Bhatkal, Bantwal, Mangaluru City North, Mangaluru City South, Belthangady, Byndoor and Kumta.

Modi wave was so strong that in Karwar constituency,  Roopali, a first -timer defeated two former MLAs, Congress candidate and sitting MLA, Sathish Sail and former Minister and JD(S) candidate, AnanthAsnotikar.  The only Congressmen, who succeeded in retaining their seats were UT Khader in Mangaluru, R V Deshpande in Haliyal and ShivaramHebbar in Yellapur.

Mr Rajesh Naik of Bantwal was the other giant killer defeating district in-charge Minister B. Ramanath Rai by a margin of 15,971 votes.