2019: Is a grand opposition against the BJP possible?      |       Statue fever grips Karnataka now after Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh      |       'Italian Agents' Forced Religious Conversions in Chhattisgarh, Alleges Yogi Adityanath      |       What Will Swing The Elections In Chhattisgarh: Prannoy Roy's Analysis      |       SC to consider on Friday report of CVC which probed CBI director Alok Verma      |       Punjab Police On Alert After Input On Jaish Terrorists Moving Towards Delhi      |       India: Cyclone Gaja makes landfall in Tamil Nadu with flooding rain, damaging winds      |       OnePlus beats Apple, Samsung in premium smartphone market      |       'I'm going to see this through': UK PM May vows to fight for Brexit deal      |       Singer TM Krishna's Concert Called Off: How Trolls Got Their Way      |       70 crore Seized In Telangana Ahead Of Polls      |       SEE: These Isro photos capture the pure magic of Indian space flight      |       Bihar CM 'snooping' by installing camera near my residence: Tejashwi Yadav      |       Who are the Saudis under the spotlight over Khashoggi's killing?      |       Pune cops file chargesheet against 10 for 'plot to kill PM'      |       Mamata woos Hindu refugees in West Bengal, announces slew of sops      |       Virat Kohli wants Indian batsmen to show 'more character' in Australia      |       Government Has Asked Tata To Help Rescue Struggling Jet Airways: Report      |       Three Tiger Cubs Run Over by Train in Maharshtara's Chandrapur      |       Pathetic! Lakhs of towels, bedsheets missing from Indian Railways AC coaches; affluent passengers to blame?      |      


Cunha, Who Sent Jayalalitha To Jail, Is Now HC Judge

The  President also appointed seven additional judges of the Karnataka High Court as permanent Judges


The President of India has appointed five new judges to the Karnataka High Court. The Government of India has issued a notification for the same. The five new judges are Ashok G Nijagannanavar, HP Sandesh, K Natarajan, PG MutalikPatil and A S Bellunke. All of them were district judges.

The  President also appointed seven additional judges of the Karnataka High Court as permanent Judges. They are Justice K Somashekar, Justice K S Mudagal, Justice Sreenivas Harish Kumar, Justice John Michael Cunha, Justice B A Patil, Justice N K Sudhindra Rao and Justice H B Prabhakara Sastry.

According to the notification issued by Rajinder Kashyap, Joint Secretary to the Government of India, the appointment of Ashok G Nijagannanavar, HP Sandesh, K Natarajan would be for a period of two years effective from the date they assume charge of their respective offices. However, the appointment of P G MutalikPatil and A S Bellunke would be effective from the date they assume charge till February 19, 2020, and August 2, 2019, respectively.

With these appointments, the number of judges in the Karnataka High Court will be 33.