With poll Mahakumbh looming, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra takes political plunge - Times of India      |       Arun Jaitley Unwell, Piyush Goyal Fills In For Him Ahead Of Interim Budget - NDTV News      |       Nine held for ISIS links planned mass killings by mixing poison in food and drinks: Maharashtra ATS - Times Now      |       6 Indian sailors killed, 6 missing in ship accident off Russia - Times of India      |       Selection committee to meet on Thursday for appointment of new CBI Director - Zee News      |       Fact check: Claims of 'cyber expert' who alleged that EVMs can be hacked do not withstand scrutiny - Scroll.in      |       Railway Minister Piyush Goyal announces 2.50 lakh additional vacancies; 10% quota applicable - The Indian Express      |       View: The central question of 2019 just became clear - Economic Times      |       Venezuela opposition leader declares himself interim president - Times of India      |       Pak Cops Sacked For Fake Encounter Of 4 In Car; 3 Children Survived - NDTV News      |       Kamala Harris raises over $1 million within 24 hours of her presidential bid announcement - The Hindu      |       Emiliano Sala missing plane: Search resumes as details emerge of messages of fear Cardiff striker sent to friend before disappearance - Goal.com      |       Vodafone plans $3.5 billion war chest to fight richest Asian - Economic Times      |       2019 Maruti Wagon R Waiting Period: When To Expect Delivery? - CarDekho      |       Tata Motors bets big on Harrier - The Hindu      |       IndiGo operator's Q3 net profit at Rs 191 crore on adverse impact of crude, rupee - Moneycontrol.com      |       Honor View 20 launched with punch-hole display, 48MP camera: Price, specs, India launch details - India Today      |       Apple Asks iPhone Users to Share Best Photos - News18      |       Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 gets its final MIUI 10 stable update - XDA Developers      |       Official: HMD releases Android 9 Pie update roadmap for Nokia phones - Nokiamob      |       A Glimpse From Priyanka Chopra And Nick Jonas' 'Fairy Tale' Wedding, Courtesy Anusha Dandekar - NDTV News      |       Yami Gautam says army defines the real meaning of patriotism - Times Now      |       Prateik Babbar to Tie the Knot with Longtime Girlfriend Sanya Sagar in Lucknow Today, See Pics - News18      |       Top 5 Celebrity Instagrammers of the Day (Photos) - India TV      |       Anushka Sharma and Virat Kohli spotted with their cutest fan in Auckland | Hindi Movie News - Bollywood - Times of India      |       Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed apologises for his racial comments - Times of India      |       Australian Open: Serena Williams stunned by Pliskova fightback, bows out in quarter-final - The Hindu      |       Australian Open 2019: YouTube star Stefanos Tsitsipas hopes to reel in Rafael Nadal - Times Now      |       Total lunar eclipse visible across California - Xinhua | English.news.cn - Xinhua      |       Greenland is approaching the threshold of an irreversible melt, and the consequences for coastal cities could - Business Insider India      |       New fabric can harvest body heat to power small wearables, shows research - Express Computer      |       SpaceX's Starship will 'bleed water' from small holes on the outside, says Musk - Firstpost      |       In stress? Remember Your Romantic Partner to Keep BP in Control - News18      |       Diabetes: How Eating Black Rice May Help Regulate Blood Sugar Levels - NDTV News      |       Hyderabad: Bad news for exhibition goers - The Siasat Daily      |       Shopping in 'unhealthy' locales up blood pressure risk: Study - Times Now      |      


Massive Defeat For BJP In Karnataka Bypolls

In what is considered to be the mining mafia’s fiefdom Ballari, BJP lost for the first time since 1999


In a majo0r setback to the BJP, the party lost four out of the five seats for which bypolls were held in the seat.  It managed to win only in the Shivamogga Parliamentary constituency where BS Yeddyurappa’s son Raghavendra pulled off a narrow win.

In what is considered to be the mining mafia’s fiefdom Ballari, BJP lost for the first time since 1999.

The electoral calculations behind the formation of the Congress-JD(S) coalition government in the State got a shot in the arm after winning four out of five assembly and parliamentary constituencies.

The bypoll elections had become a matter of prestige for the three Lok Sabha constituencies as the term of the present LokSabhaends in barely six months.

In Ballari, BJP has lost for the first time since 1999 when Sonia Gandhi contested and defeated Sushma Swaraj. The margin is also one of a concern for the BJP, where their candidate, former MP J Shanta lost the seat to Congress’ V.S. Ugrappa, a newcomer to the district’s political landscape, by more than 2.4 lakh votes. “It is a victory of the people, of principles and of secularism,” said Ugrappa.

While the BJP did win the “battle of the sons” in Shivamogga, its margin has come down. BJP’s B.S. Raghavendra,  son of Yeddyurappa, won against JD(S)’s Madhu Bangarappa, son of former Chief Minister S. Bangarappa, by a margin of 52,148 votes only.

Yeddyurappa had won the seat in 2014 by a margin of 3.63 lakh votes.

In Mandya, the coalition candidate L.R. Shivaramegowda from JD(S) comfortably romped to victory over BJP’s candidate Siddaramaiah who had joined the party just before the elections. The vote margin was close to 3.25 lakh votes, and this is a new record for Mandya parliamentary seat.

In the assembly constituencies, it was status quo with the coalition partners retaining their respective seats.

Anand Nyamagouda, the son of the sitting MLA S. Nyamagouda, won by nearly 39,500 votes. BJP’s Kulkarni Srikanth lost for the third time.

In Ramanagara, where BJP’s candidate L. Chandrashekhar rejoined the Congress 48 hours before the polls, the results were as expected. Anita Kumaraswamy, the wife of Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy who had relinquished the seat after winning it in the May assembly polls, won comfortably. She won by 1.09 lakh votes, while the BJP received 15,906 votes despite their candidate jumping ship. Her husband had held the seat since the 2004 elections.