Here's how you can help flood-hit people of Kerala      |       Prime Minister Narendra Modi 'impatient to take India to new heights': Full text of PM's Independence Day Speech      |       Ashutosh quits AAP LIVE updates: Sanjay Singh says party will persuade ex-journalist to rethink decision      |       London Police return stolen 12th century Buddha statue to India on I-Day      |       Yet to Create the India of Gandhi's Dreams, Says Freedom Fighter HS Doreswamy      |       Tricolour falls at BJP office; Congress and Kejriwal take a dig at Amit Shah      |       Unfair to say India are dependent on Virat Kohli, says Kumar Sangakkara      |       "Very Kind Of Him": Justice Indu Malhotra On PM's Remark On Women Judges      |       Anger grows in Italy as bridge toll rises to 39      |       'Hope Centre respects public sentiments on Aero India issue'      |       Pakistan National Assembly elects Imran Khan's aide as Speaker      |       India, China resolved dispute over large segment of border: Ram Madhav      |       What really is Rafale deal: Congress releases a teaser to renew attack on Narendra Modi government      |       Gold movie review: This Akshay Kumar film is a rousing, emotion-laden drama      |       Anushka Sharma memes from Sui Dhaaga will tickle your funny bone      |       Afghanistan: At least 48 killed, 67 injured in suicide blast in Kabul      |       Deoria shelter home abuse: SP shunted out      |       Priyanka Chopra shows off engagement ring at Manish Malhotra's party      |       Jio starts registration for optical fibre-based broadband service 'JioGigaFiber'      |       Black Americans aren't buying Omarosa's turn against Trump      |      


New Karnataka Assembly Session Begins, MLAs Take Oath

The pro tem Speaker, K.G. Bopaiah conducted the proceedings.


Governor Vajubhai Vala on Saturday convened the 15th Karnataka Assembly in the Vidhana Soudha here. It began with the newly-elected legislators taking oath.

The pro tem Speaker, K.G. Bopaiah conducted the proceedings.

Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa was the first to take oath followed by Congress legislature party leader and former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and Janata Dal-Secular's (JD-S) legislature party leader H.D. Kumaraswamy.

After these three, legislators of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress and JD-S would be administered the oath.

Later in the day at 4 p.m., there will be a floor test conducted in the House to ascertain Yeddyurappa's majority, as ordered by the Supreme Court on Friday.

In the May 12 assembly election held in 222 constituencies across the state, the BJP won 104, Congress 78, JD-S 37 and three others, including one Independent, one from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and other a regional party, Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party (KPJP).