Kerala off red alert but IMD's rain forecast keeps it on edge      |       India vs England, LIVE Cricket Score, 3rd Test in Nottingham, Day 1: Virat Kohli carries on post Rahane's fall      |       Seated next to PoK 'president', Sidhu hugs Pakistan army chief, sparks row      |       Maha man puts up over 300 banners to make-up with girlfriend      |       Remembering Atal Bihari Vajpayee: His poetry and his pauses      |       Congress revokes Mani Shankar Aiyar's suspension      |       Priyanka Chopra and Nick Jonas engagement: Sophie Turner and the Jonas' welcome Priyanka with open arms      |       Relief in flood-hit Kerala as rain subsides, but nightmare far from over      |       GDP under Modi govt higher than UPA's last four years: Niti Aayog VC      |       CBI arrests key suspect in Dabholkar murder case      |       Kerala Floods: Chengannur MLA pleads PM for helicopters, says 50000 will die      |       Kofi Annan, former UN secretary general, dies      |       PMLA Appellate Tribunal releases attachment on purchasers in 'Kingfisher Towers'      |       Saudi Arabia prepares for the annual Muslim hajj pilgrimage      |       Assam school principal arrested for not hoisting Tricolour on I-Day      |       After 2 years, Shivpal finally ready to float his own party      |       Infosys CFO MD Ranganath quits; surprises market watchers      |       Walmart completes deal to buy Flipkart for $16 billion      |       Asian Games 2018 get underway with glittering opening ceremony      |       Putin it to the dance floor with an Austrian minister at her wedding      |      


Reddys Win Only 3 In Ballari

The BJP leadership came under fire before the elections for giving nine seats to the Reddy clan.


The much-hyped Reddy brothers could not bring much cheer to the BJP in this elections. 

Though it emerged as the single largest party, the saffron party has managed to win only three seats out of the nine in this ore rich district of Ballari, while Congress party won six seats.

Despite the leadership of Valmiki strongman and BJP Lok Sabha member B. Sriramulu, backed by his mentor and mining scam-tainted former minister Gali Janardhan Reddy, the BJP failed to regain its lost hold over the Ballari district.

Congress candidates, E. Tukaram from Sandur, P.T. ParameshwarNaik from Hadagali, BhimaNaik from Hagaribommanahalli, J.N. Ganesh from Kampli, B.S. Anand Singh from Hosapete and B. Nagendra from Ballari (ST) registered a victory against BJP candidates.

Singh and Nagendra had quit BJP ahead of the polls and joined Congress.

BJP candidates N.Y. Gopala Krishna from Kudligi, M.S. Somalingappa from Siruguppa and G. Somashekhar Reddy from Ballari City won.  However, the defeat of  Sriramulu's nephew and two-time MLA from Kampli  T H Suresh Babu by Congress debutant Mr Ganesh is a big jolt to the Reddy camp. 

The BJP leadership came under fire before the elections for giving nine seats to the Reddy clan.