Aadhaar Authentication To Withdraw LPG Subsidy To Continue: UIDAI      |       US Move To Abolish H-4 Visa Work Permits To Impact Over 70000 Indians      |       Congress boxed in, BJP benefits and CPM scrambles for cover in rapidly shifting Sabarimala politics      |       Will visit Ayodhya on November 25, ask PM why Ram temple not built yet: Uddhav      |       RSS chief calls for law to build Ram temple      |       Sri Lanka Prime Minister Reaches New Delhi For Three-Day Visit      |       Anil Ambani companies file defamation suits against journos, media houses over articles on Rafale deal      |       Trump concedes Khashoggi likely dead, threatens consequences      |       We have lost a visionary, say ND Tiwari's cabinet colleagues      |       Chhattisgarh elections: Congress announces candidates for 12 seats in naxal-hit Bastar region      |       Congress Lost Karnataka Poll On Minority Tag To Lingayats: Minister      |       8000 new CBSE schools likely soon      |       #MeToo started by people with perverted minds: Union minister Pon Radhakrishnan      |       India Engaged With Stakeholders On Iranian Oil Import: Government      |       Koffee With Karan 6: Katrina Kaif And Varun Dhawan Are All Set To Have 'Great Conversations' On Karan Johar's Show      |       Gujarat CM visits 'Statue of Unity' site      |       Nana Patekar Responds To Film Body Notice, Denies Sexual Harassment Allegations      |       Confident Maldivian people's mandate will prevail: India      |       Oil companies cut petrol price by 21 paise, diesel to cost 11 paise less      |       An Afghan Police Chief Took on the Taliban and Won. Then His Luck Ran Out.      |      


Virat Kohli Creates IPL History

Virat Kohli scored a 48 not out against Kings XI Punjab on Monday as he became the only player to score 500 runs in five IPL seasons.


Virat Kohli became the only man to score 500 runs in an IPL season for the fifth time during Royal Challengers Bangalore's crucial game against Kings XI Punjab in Indore on Monday.

Kohli needed 34 runs to get to the landmark before the start of play. The RCB skipper smashed 48 not out as his team fought off Kings XI Punjab to stay alive in this edition of the IPL.

RCB bowlers put up an inspired performance, bowling out KXIP for their second-lowest total of 88 runs. Kohli, looking to better RCB's Net Run Rate (NRR) for the battle of playoffs, came out to open and RCB raced off to a 10-wicket victory.

Kohli is currently the leading run-scorer in the history of the IPL. The 29-year-old had a middling time with the bat last year but bounced back in style this season.

He remains the only player in the IPL to have been with the same team since the inception of the league in 2008. Bought by RCB as an under-19 star 11 years ago, Kohli has gone from strength to strength over the last decade.

After a modest start, Kohli reached his peak in 2011 when he smashed 557 runs from 16 matches. In 2013, he was handed over the RCB captaincy and he celebrated by scoring 634 runs from 16 matches, In 2015, Kohli hammered 505 runs from 16 matches.

However, the breakthrough year came in 2016 when Kohli hammered a record 973 runs including four hundred. He also hit seven boundaries as RCB stormed into the final only to lose to Sunrisers Hyderabad.

This year, Kohli has once again led by example. The team is heavily dependent on him and AB de Villiers and the duo have not disappointed. On Saturday, Kohli scored a 40-ball 70 while de Villiers remained unbeaten on 72 as RCB crushed Delhi Daredevils at the Feroz Shah Kotla.

Scoring 500 runs in the IPL is no mean feat.

Before today, besides Kohli, there was the only man who had gone past the 500-run mark in a season four times: David Warner.

Warner, who lost his IPL contract with SRH after being handed a one-year ban over his role in the ball-tampering scandal, scored 528 runs in 2014, 562 in 2015, 848 in 2016 and 641.

Chennai Super Kings star Suresh Raina is the only batsman to have gone past the 300-run mark in all 11 seasons of the IPL. But even he crossed the 500-run mark only thrice. In 2010, he scored 520 before smashing 548 in 2013 and 523 in 2014.

Kohli's former RCB teammate Chris Gayle, who was bought by KXIP in 2018, also scored over 500 runs in a season thrice. He scored 608 in 2011, 733 in 2012 and 708 in 2013. In 2015, he came close, scoring 491 runs.

The dangerous AB de Villiers has so far managed the feat only twice with 513 runs in 2013 and 687 in 2016.

Gautam Gambhir, who stepped down as Delhi Daredevils skipper midway into the current season, breached the 500-run mark in a season thrice: 534 in 2008, 590 in 2012 and 501 in 2016.

Sachin Tendulkar scored 618 runs in 2010 and 553 in 2011 for Mumbai Indians.

Shaun Marsh, the winner of the first Orange Cap in 2008 scored 616 in the inaugural edition before compiling 504 in 2011.

Kohli's close friend and SRH opener Shikhar Dhawan has also done it twice: 569 in 2012 and 501 in 2016 while Robin Uthappa (660 in 2014) and Rohit Sharma (538 in 2013) have gone past 500 runs once each.